Home > Uncategorized > 20 years of Pokémon

20 years of Pokémon

Wow, this thing that Nintendo and GameFreak created 20 years ago is still around. Nintendo has so many IPs and characters that are still around today, one of the biggest franchises in the world, in video games as well as toys and anime, is Pokémon. Many of us were around when it blew up. The first Pokémon games were released in 1996 in Japan, 3 years later it came to Europe. So I was 12 at the time. And I have a few special memories related to this phenomena. They cross my mind from time to time.

I remember my brother’s mother’s friend saying something like “it’s just a new fad, it’ll be gone soon”. And already back then I had a huge interest in Nintendo and I knew that when something is this big, it’s not gonna go away any time soon. I didn’t make any smart comment if I remember correctly but I think I just said “naaa” in a confident way. And thought, “you’ll see”.
Years later I remembered this and thinking “see, I told you lady”.

Another vivid memory is of the Trading Card Game. Which I love and still have a collection of.
I have at least one of every Pokémon from the first generation, and then some. I should count them all one day. I love the cards because of their art and also because of the actual game, I love the game. But I didn’t have a lot of opportunities to play the game. I did it with my brother and one friend who also collected them. (Now I play the Pokémon Trading Card Game Online) Then of course it was a group thing, so have an hobby to share with a lot of people, mainly the trading of cards. Love it. It was my cousin who made me get into it. I first wasn’t sure if I’d start collecting these game cards or just the ones with pictures on them, I’m glad I went for the more fun collection. I’m pretty sure I would have gone down that route anyway. But it was my cousin who paid for and shared a starter pack with me. I loved that feeling of opening a big pack and flipping through brand new cards. And the excitement of buying smaller packs not knowing what to get. They were really expensive though so I can now understand my parents objection to it. But I don’t regret it.

I actually don’t remember if I started with the cards or the game. But again it was my cousin who helped me enter the world of Pokémon, but now in gaming. I got the Red version from him.
And I loved it. And I still love it. Today I’m playing Pokémon Y. I own almost all the main Pokémon games. Red, Gold, Ruby, Diamond and Y. I still have to buy White/Black, and their sequel. Weird how a main game got a sequel like that. Then I also have Pokémon Stadium 1 and 2. As well as Japanese Pokémon Green. And Pokémon Snap.

I love fire Pokémon and always try to have a lot of fire types in my team. And I also try to pick the game based on the color red or fire in some way, or just which Pokémon looks the best on the cover. I wanted Silver instead of Gold but so that I could trade with my friend, I had to get Gold.
japaOh well, at least Ho-oh is a fire type.

Here are some of my favorite Pokémon: Charizard, Growlithe, Gengar, Lapras, Flareon, Mewtwo, Cyndaquil, Sentret, Furret, Misdreavus, Magcargo, Corsola, Houndour, Lairon, Roselia, Pachirisu, Gastrodon, Sandile, Clawitzer.

I remember watching the anime every early weekend morning with my friend sleeping over.
I remember the huge line outside the cinema for the first movie, and crying watching it. I remember getting the diploma for completing the pokédex in Red.

So many memories… And more to come.

Here’s a video Nintendo created to celebrate the 20th anniversary of Pokémon, very well made:

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

