Home > Uncategorized > Real life “superheroes”

Real life “superheroes”

When I was about 10 years old, I used to pretend and play with my friend that we were superheroes. One day I told him that when we grow up we should become real superheroes. And never forget this promise we made. It was somewhat inspired by SWAT Cats. I wanted to be like a Cat Man, already back then I had this thing for cat related stuff.

main-qimg-ca99b3361dae3d37c0c25d2bb66ec6f6

But obviously, this didn’t happen. But I did keep the idea in my head for years and kept thinking “we’re still gonna do it”. But slowly growing up I realized it was just a kid’s fantasy and I wasn’t going to do it.

But now I feel like I almost want to do it on my own. I feel like I would want to wear something simple yet superhero-like, and just go out and help people. Not fight crime, just do stuff like find missing cats or clean up trash from the ground or whatever. I’d be called, The Helping Hand.

And after I saw the movie Kickass some years ago I got the reoccurring thought, in all of time of the modern history and with so many people on this Earth, surely someone must be “crazy” enough to actually try to be a real life superhero. At that time I didn’t look much into it. But because I just got this idea again, I hit Youtube and did some simple searches. And it turns out, that there are actually people who do this!

Some more seriously than others, some are actually doing something and actually help in many ways. It’s scary and it’s a bit crazy, but as long as they don’t break the law and are smart about it, I think it’s an amazing thing.

And I want to share this discovery. Just search on Youtube for “real life superheroes”. The person that stands out the most and that seems to take this as something very real, as well as someone who still seems active, is Phoenix Jones in Seattle. I also liked The Black Rat of Australia.

There’s some different footage to find on Youtube but the most interesting I’ve seen is Phoenix Jones’ own footage from when he’s out on the street. Also saw this documentary about some others who call themselves superheroes. But why hasn’t there been a rich crazy guy like Batman?

It’s extra crazy and dangerous in the USA. I just think that this being real is so damn cool and awesome, and it’s a great thing they’re doing and I admire that. They just need to stay realistic.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

