Home > culture, food/sweets, Japan, swedish > First omiyage acquired

First omiyage acquired

      おみやげ = omiyage = souvenir 


Going to Japan next year calls for some souvenirs. Souvenirs to bring, that is.  For people I’m going to meet there. I have a few online friends I might meet up with in Tokyo. And as I’ve learned from the danish travel show Vagn i Japan (Vagn in Japan), little gifts are always appreciated and a sort of custom in Japan when meeting new friends. I can’t bring much because of the lack of space in my suit case, but I’m trying to come up with a few things I wanna bring. Preferably something typical Swedish. I’m having a hard time coming up with stuff. But today I bought something that’ll bring.


Looks bigger than it is in this photo.

It’s a package of “crisp bread” or “cracker bread”. Knäckebröd, in Swedish. I don’t know if you know what it is or how common it is in your country. But it’s pretty common in Sweden and I like some of the sorts. Also it has a typical Swedish symbol on it, the Dalahäst. I’m not gonna go in to in detail cause frankly I have no idea what it actually is. It’s some colored horse from some place, look it up yourself. I might get a horse statue as a gift though…

Categories: culture, food/sweets, Japan, swedish
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

