Home > anime, music, review > My thoughts on Lucky Star

My thoughts on Lucky Star

So I started watching a new anime, new to me that is. らきすた, it’s one of the popular ones I’ve seen and heard about here and there so obviously I wanted to check it out. I’m only about 4 episodes in. This series is very short however, it only has 24 episodes as far as I know. Which is very disappointing to hear. The shortest anime I’ve seen is Great Teacher Onizuka, I think. One of my favorites. Is this series a favorite of mine so far, no.

It’s very different to what I’m used to but it sure is entertaining and interesting. The biggest differences must be how the show doesn’t really focus on anything special. They have a lot of odd conversations going on, sometimes they are longer than normal. Not much is going on, they are mostly having funny and interesting conversations. But it does center around these 4 school girls. Konata Izumi being the most characterized of them. She’s awesome in several ways, one being, she’s an otaku~. And super cute.

That’s the other thing, even though they are high school students and are around 18 years old, the style of the show make them look like 12. Also they sound like it, the later not being surprising. The show is said to be “shounen”, which is aimed at young boys. But I don’t agree, I think the humor doesn’t fit that age group in all cases.

I like it because of the otaku girl Konata Izumi, the fact that they (or she rather) speak about nerdy stuff, and it’s super cute as I said. But it does feel confusing how the characters look contra how they act.

The intro song is definitely one of the best. I’m not sure how I feel about the end, where several minutes is taken up by two characters talking about the show. And when the credits roll there is always a scene with them singing karaoke, not really seeing them, just hearing them. It’s enjoyable but I’d rather have more of the show.

Opening

Also, I don’t get why they spell Lucky Star with hiragana…

Categories: anime, music, review
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

