Home > design, review, tech > New tech! (Mini-PC review)

New tech! (Mini-PC review)

Oh yeah! I just bought this baby. (Two days ago, that shows how lazy I’m with blogging)

An Acer Aspire One 722. It has a 11.6 inch LED screen, AMD Fusion processor at 1 GHz. 250 GB HDD,  AMD Radeon graphics card supporting DirectX 11. Card reader and all of that plus HDMI and a battery life of about 7 hours. It weighs 1,46 kg and comes with Windows 7 Home Premium.

 Did I really need a new PC? No. Do I prefer a mini-PC? No. Is this PC perfect? No. But I really wanted to get some new tech. I was really having problems with some editing software as well as Yahoo Messenger on my laptop. Also the battery is almost worthless (as usual). My other laptop is an HP Pavilion dv6. It’s great, a very strong laptop. But already it’s having some trouble, way too soon as I’ve only had it for about 3 years. It’s also easier to use when connecting to my HDTV and when I study Japanese in the kitchen.

I love laptops and couldn’t be without one. I’ll never go back to having just a desktop PC, I’ll always have one laptop. Just love the portability and the smooth keyboard. I love how it’s all one piece. The drawback with a laptop though is that they don’t live as long as stationary PC’s do. You can’t exchange parts very easy for upgrade. And they are generally more expensive. But it’s worth it. You just gotta find something good for a good price.

And Acer is suppose to have long living PC’s. What can I say about this particular model?

First about the look. The top lid of this mini-PC is something I really don’t like. First of all it’s glossy, and glossy means smudges and fingerprints. Also it got some glittery effect… And then it has this water ripple effect. These things combined makes me really dislike the look of the lid. The general shape and design other than that is good. Keyboard looks nice but the mouse pads buttons is a one piece plastic piece. And it looks like the front of an remote if you know what I mean. This PC is the black color, there is also blue and red. I’d love to have red but the store only had black.

It only have one fan but wow this PC is quiet. I have pretty much zero experience with mini-PC’s or netbook or whatever you wanna call them, so I have nothing to compare to except normal laptops. The different connections are places ok on both sides, nothing in front or back.

It seems to act a bit slower than my main laptop, but I guess it’s understandable when my PC is much stronger. This one isn’t bad when it comes to power though, especially with that price. I bought it for 2995 kr, that’s 460 USD. A good price I think, but just a tad lower would have been perfect. Other negatives are the speakers, they are below the PC. And they are really low, sound isn’t bad but the volume is low. Also the microphone is bad, also low and the quality is just bad. Really annoying as I’d like to at least use the microphone a lot when talking to people online. Guess I need to buy a headset as both of mine are broken.

 The keyboard isn’t as bad as I read online, it works fine. But it is a bit mushy and soft. A problem with most laptops if you’re not using a separate mouse is that you keep touching the mouse pad on accident cause some really annoying stuff happening on the screen. We all hate it. With my HP I use a connected mouse and I do have the ability with a simple button press above the mouse pad to turn the function off. On the Acer you can not. You can turn the function off but that’s with FN button combination. Very annoying as I’m going to use this in a more portable sense. The caps lock indicator is an on-screen one. And so are all the other functions, and things like volume and brightness is done by the FN combination.

I’m glad I got an Acer. I’m not disappointed and I do not regret the purchase. Some things were better and some things were worse than I expected. But I will not give this PC a high grade. If it wasn’t my secondary PC and if I could really try out several mini-PC’s I might have gone with another one. My advice is to do a lot of research and have a few points you require. See if you can hold one in a store to get a feel of it and look for the cheapest model.

The Acer Aspire One 722 gets a 5 out of 10.

Categories: design, review, tech
  1. naulaertslaura
    08/18/2012 at 11:05

    So, without the fn keyboard stuff, would you have given it a higher score? Because, I currently own another Acer, three years old, like your other laptop was -which is about as long as a normal laptop is going to last, especially when you look at how everything has improved since – and I am used to the keyboard. Never owned anything else.

    • 08/20/2012 at 00:56

      Excluding the keyboard issue I don’t think I would have given it a higher score. Other things were would still put the score down.

      Acer usually last longer than 3 years. If treated well a laptop should last about 4 years and an Acer maybe 5. Acer is the next brand I’ll get for sure.

      Not just a mini. But an “ultabook”.

      • naulaertslaura
        08/20/2012 at 09:33

        Thank you for replying. I will take in into account, though I still consider buying this one, as I have not found another netbook with better specs.
        Have you got any other experience with netbooks? Is there one you would recommend.

        • 08/21/2012 at 00:14

          Thank you for reading and commenting. I bought it because of the specs but something made me expect more from it though…
          I mostly have experience with normal PC laptops. So I really don’t have any recommendations except from that it seems that Acer and Asus are the best brands. I’ve had Toshiba and HP (have an HP now). They are better than Samsung and PackardBell, but worse than Acer and Asus.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

