Home > movies, review > The Good, The Bad, The Weird.

The Good, The Bad, The Weird.

I haven’t watched as much Asian movies as I’d like to. The ones I’ve seen the most are Jackie Chan‘s movies. And I love Jackie Chan’s work, but that’s for another blog post. This is about a movie I saw a few days ago. It’s not Japanese, it’s Korean. (A language I also love) The title is The good, the bad, the weird. Obviously the title is a an homage to The good, the bad and the ugly. I’ve seen that movie too and it’s good, also A fistful of dollars. But I’m not crazy about westerns. This is an “Asian western”.vI do love some Asian action movies. I love the style and I love the humor at most times. This one is very much that, action and humor.

Kim Jee-Woon is the maker of this movie. Never heard of him but he knows his stuff obviously. They really did get the three characters down. It’s the good guy, the very cool and sharp-shooting loner. The bad, a really disturbing guy that just doesn’t give a shit. And the weird, and yeah… he’s a bit weird.

I also love the fact that there are also Japanese and Chinese people in this movie. Not very much as the movie is set in Korea and they speak Korean most of the time. But there are some Chinese and Japanese people and talking.

I’m not sure how much or if any of it is based on true history. But seeing as the movie has both the western setting a along with something like a motorcycle tells me the movie is somewhat in a fantasy world. In Korea with the Japanese invading, but very much not set in today’s time.

I have very little to complain about this movie. There are a few small things I didn’t understand or thought were just bad. But they are very few. One whole scene however is something I had no idea why it happened. Unless I missed something… Cause I have no idea why he went there or what he was going to do and we got no explanation to what happened afterwards.

It’s an awesome movie. It’s funny and action-packed. Not an amazing piece but please do watch it if you like the Asian style action with humor, though in this movie the gun does the job so it’s not your typical Asian action movie. Which is a good thing! I love many of the scenes in the movie but I can’t say I absolutely love the movie it self. For example there is a scene where the Good and the Weird is sleeping outside at a bonfire and having a talk. I also love the way the Good talk and sounds. And so on…

I will buy it on bluray someday for sure, and that is something I only do with the good stuff.

 7/10

 

Categories: movies, review
  1. 08/18/2011 at 06:40

    Hey. That was a great review. I absolutely love Korean movies and if you are looking for recommendations I have seen quite a few K-movies. If you like twisted psychological thrillers, then a good place to start is with Park Chan-Wook’s vengeance trilogy. 1.Sympathy for Mr. Vengeance 2. Oldboy 3. Lady Vengeance. Oldboy being the best, but it is hard to find without the English dubbing 😦 Also, you may want to check out anything by director Kim Ki-Duk. He has been called the “bad boy” of Korean cinema. Most of his movies are either strange or twisted. I don’t know how many K-movies you have seen, but, in the movies listed here there is usually a moment in each film where you will say: “No fucking way they just went there!” But I also have more mellow suggestions if you are not so much into the gritty stuff. (The problem is that I have seen so many I am forgetting the titles)
    かんぱい! (乾杯!)

    • 08/27/2011 at 00:27

      “Oldboy being the best, but it is hard to find without the English dubbing.”
      I’ve seen Oldboy, And it wasn’t dubbed.

      Thanks for the suggestions but, I do not like those kind of movies. Xd

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

