Home > off topic, swedish > Akira-chan the cat

Akira-chan the cat

Have I ever told you about Akira? My cat. Not much on my blog I haven’t.

Akira-chan is 2 years old. He is a funny and crazy cat, but not without problems. If you follow me on Twitter or if you’re subbed to me on Youtube you know that he has been destroying the net I have on the balcony. I have it there because it’s a law in Sweden that says you gotta have some kind of protection if you have a pet 5 meters above ground. I live on the 3rd floor. But mainly because I don’t want him to fall or escape. If he would fall or escape I wouldn’t be too worried though. He’s a cat and they are amazing creatures with a very high durability. And if he got outside without a leash, yes I do take him for a walk sometimes, I think he would just be hiding somewhere close to the entrance.

I installed something like a table not long on the balcony so I can put stuff on it. This seems to have given Akira the idea to break the net and walk out. One day I got home and he was just standing there on the small ledge. I slowly walked towards him and grabbed him through the net, making another hole to get him inside. I fixed the holes with some left-over net. But since then he has made several attempts at getting through. One time he was just sitting on the neighbors balcony floor.

I’ve tried to fix it with other kinds of net and using a lot of plastic pincher bands (I don’t know the name of them in english). And yesterday I even took away the table side. I’m gonna have to buy a small ordinary table instead. Still today he has damaged the net, but it won’t be easy for him to break out. Next I might have to go with some chicken wire on the lower part of the net.

Also he sometimes pushes stuff on to the floor breaking them. Recently he also attacked and scratched up my mattress. Except these things and not being the most cuddly cat, he is very cute and funny and good cat. He only peed a few times one week, months after I got him, but that was because I had some dirty laundry laying on the floor. Oh and he pukes sometimes… I gotta call the vet about that. He can’t eat anything but cat food, then he pukes soon there after. Still he pukes sometimes though. And he’s very picky about his food.

I gave Akira the name Akira just because it’s a quite common Japanese name, even for pets.

Akira wasn’t always my cat though…

かわいい!!

I’ve had him for over a year but at the start he was a relatives cat. When a person moved in with this relative, Akira-chan started to pee on all the persons stuff. (I’m censoring out of respect) At first they wanted to give him away. I wasn’t interested cause I don’t have a job and wasn’t planning on getting a cat anytime soon. (I’m actually more of a dog person, but I still love both dogs and cats. But a dog takes much more to take care of). I was just hearing this from mom as we talked on the phone now and then. Mom then told me that they were gonna kill him off for this… And all I said to mom then was; “No… If that’s what’s gonna happen, I’ll take him”. And the next day I had a cat in my apartment, very surreal. I said to him; “You be a good cat now, I just saved your life buddy”.

Akira-chan’s Facebook

Categories: off topic, swedish
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

